Basics


This class is taught by:

Annamma Johns

E-RYT200,YACEP
Born: Kerala, India

Guiltless Pleasures: Walks in nature with my husband and children, learning about: spirituality, yoga philosophy, meditation, the wonders of the infinite cosmos and the human potential for discoveries & inventions.

Why Yoga: Growing up in India in the yogic culture and practicing yoga ever since I can remember, I cannot not do yoga and talk about its benefits on our mind and body.

Certifications: Yoga & Meditation TT from Master Kamal Srinivas of Patanjali Yoga Institute, India, Core Power Yoga L1 200hr & Level2 TT 40hr, Duke University’s Certificate in Therapeutic Yoga for Seniors, Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction Program with Insight Meditation Community of Washington

Fred Williams

RYT200
Born: Lynchburg, VA
Guiltless Pleasures: Chocolate, loose leaf teatime, anything sci-fi, thai yoga massage, trips to the mountains, going anywhere on my bicycle, getting lost in the woods.
Why Yoga: I'm on a spiritual journey and yoga is my chosen path. To paraphrase Ralph Waldo Emerson - Yoga is a journey, not a destination.
Certifications: 532Yoga 200hr, Physiology and Dance Kinesiology at GWU, ACE/IDEA and AFAA fitness instructor
Basics is accessible and enlivening. You’re guided through foundational postures such as Mountain, Warrior, and Downward-Facing Dog, and practice breathing techniques aligned with movement. Expect clear instruction and a steady pace. This class is perfect for anyone starting out their yoga journey, as well as for those looking to revisit the fundamentals.

Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Sep 21 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Sep 26 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Sep 28 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Oct 03 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Oct 05 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Oct 10 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Oct 12 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Oct 17 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Oct 19 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Oct 24 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Oct 26 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Oct 31 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Nov 02 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Nov 07 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Nov 09 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Nov 14 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Nov 16 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Nov 21 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Nov 23 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Nov 28 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams