Basics


This class is taught by:

Fred Williams

RYT200
Born: Lynchburg, VA
Guiltless Pleasures: Chocolate, loose leaf teatime, anything sci-fi, thai yoga massage, trips to the mountains, going anywhere on my bicycle, getting lost in the woods.
Why Yoga: I'm on a spiritual journey and yoga is my chosen path. To paraphrase Ralph Waldo Emerson - Yoga is a journey, not a destination.
Certifications: 532Yoga 200hr, Physiology and Dance Kinesiology at GWU, ACE/IDEA and AFAA fitness instructor

Annamma Johns

E-RYT200,YACEP
Born: Kerala, India

Guiltless Pleasures: Walks in nature with my husband and children, learning about: spirituality, yoga philosophy, meditation, the wonders of the infinite cosmos and the human potential for discoveries & inventions.

Why Yoga: Growing up in India in the yogic culture and practicing yoga ever since I can remember, I cannot not do yoga and talk about its benefits on our mind and body.

Certifications: Yoga & Meditation TT from Master Kamal Srinivas of Patanjali Yoga Institute, India, Core Power Yoga L1 200hr & Level2 TT 40hr, Duke University’s Certificate in Therapeutic Yoga for Seniors, Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction Program with Insight Meditation Community of Washington

Basics is accessible and enlivening. You’re guided through foundational postures such as Mountain, Warrior, and Downward-Facing Dog, and practice breathing techniques aligned with movement. Expect clear instruction and a steady pace. This class is perfect for anyone starting out their yoga journey, as well as for those looking to revisit the fundamentals.

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Nov 28 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Nov 30 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Dec 05 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Dec 07 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Dec 12 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Dec 14 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Dec 19 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Dec 21 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Dec 26 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Dec 28 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Jan 02 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Jan 04 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Jan 09 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Jan 11 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Jan 16 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Jan 18 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Jan 23 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams
  • Thu Jan 25 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Annamma Johns
  • Tue Jan 30 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Fred Williams